Bumthang valley and its attractions

There are 20 dzongkhags (districts) in Bhutan and each Dzongkhag has its own attraction. Bumthang is popularly known for its lovely valleys (Tang, Ura, Choekor and Chumey) and the age old historical monasteries. It is believed, trip to Bhutan is never complete without a visit to Bumthang Valley. Though the road journey is pretty long but with a new domestic flight from Paro to Bumthang it has become far more easy. Bumthang is also called Jakar and many a times it is compared to Switzerland. A visit to Bumthang will help to complete your tale about Bhutan when you get back home. Following are the attractions of Bumthang/Jakar valley:

  • Jambay Lhakhang
  • Kurje Lhakhang
  • Tamshing Lhakhang
  • Jakar Dzong
  • Konchogsum Lhakhang
  • Chamkhar Lhakhang
  • Membartsho (Burning) Lake
  • Lhodrak Kharchu Monastry
  • Tang and Ura valleys
  • And many others.